Menu

Course Admins

It's always nice to have a little help, and we know that the course creation process is often a joint effort! Our course admin feature makes it easy to collaborate on projects.


Site admins have the ability to control the permissions for a user, including make them a course admin.


Making a user a course admin gives them the ability to:

  1. Create new courses

  2. Create new instructors

  3. Edit existing courses to which they are assigned as course administrator

Because course admins only have these specific permissions, it's a great way to share your workload without giving somebody access to make general changes to your site, or to view private information (e.g. student data, revenue).


Unlike site admins, who can see your full dashboard, course admins only have access to a stripped down version of the admin dashboard, from which they can manage their courses and instructors. 



(You’ll notice on the stripped down version above that the only access they have is My Courses, Instructors, and Progress.)


Users on our Business plan and above can have up to 3 course admins in addition to the main site admin account. So, if you haven't already, upgrade to take full advantage of this feature! Here’s how.


Then, simply follow the instructions below to set up a new course admin in under a minute!



How to set up a course admin

Make sure you are logged in as a site admin. From the Users page of your admin dashboard either create a new user account, or select to edit an existing one.


Select the checkbox for Course Admin, hit the Save Changes button, and that's it!






Assigning a course admin to an existing course

A user will automatically be assigned as the course admin of any new courses that they create on your site, but if you'd like to give somebody access to edit an existing course, here's how:


On the Settings tab of the course builder for that course, find the Course Administrators section and select your course admin from the dropdown list.





Click Add and save your changes. That user will now see the course as an option under My Courses on their admin dashboard.


You can come back to the Settings tab at any point to add/remove course admins, and only site admins have permission to assign/remove access to edit courses.


Looking to add an administrator with full site access instead? Here's how.




Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.